A Spectre is Haunting #OccupyWallStreet

Last night I went to Occupy Wall Street and gave a brief teach-in on The Communist Manifesto to about 40–50 people. It’s almost as widely read as the Bible — though never once used by Republicans to deny women’s right to abortion — and sales of the Manifesto are reportedly up more than 700% since the start of our Not-So-Great Depression.

Shouting out a political presentation on a public street in the midst of an occupation is highly cathartic, I discovered, and I wholeheartedly recommend it!

Below is a crude video of 8 minutes of my 15-minute talk (thanks to my friend Peter Rugh) and beneath that is an additional 1-minute clip, of higher quality, from a new anarchist friend. Enjoy, and if you’re in the Boston area this weekend, I’ll be giving two talks behind enemy lines, so to speak, at Harvard University. Check out the full schedule here.

4 responses to “A Spectre is Haunting #OccupyWallStreet

  1. As an Anarchist, I want to say thank you for your wonderful talk. It was great to see so many people eagerly listening to you. And I loved, loved, loved your answer to the gentleman about the “family.” Thank you and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

  2. I also recorded some of your talk. Here’s a great piece when you were talking about exploitation:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuZYmvTzT2w

  3. David-
    Thanks for the kind note and the video clip. See you at the square. Solidarity in struggle, Sherry

  4. i love your style of speaking… really reminds me of working class heroes of the past.

Leave a Reply

